Interpretation

aplang-poemsm

Picture by Sean Ziebarth

While reading this small excerpt, I attempted to extract some sort of meaning from it. However, I did not get much out of it. The poem is short and ambiguous.The author talks about how someone is putting on a blindfold in order to “converse with the greats”. I interpret that as a person doing something that defeats the purpose of their goal in an attempt to achieve it. In addition, Pavlova mentions how someone is rewriting books in order to “edit holy edicts” and to “correspond with books”. Again, I interpret it as someone doing something that defeats the purpose of their goal. Finally, the author talks about how someone is trying to talk with a clock by “tapping a wall in the solitary confinement of the universe”. It is difficult for me to say what that means, as the two ideas seem to not correlate in any shape or form. I guess I’m just bad at poetry.

Leave a Reply

