Specificity in Writing

Image result for writing

Image by ShutterStock

Having concrete details in writing is important because it informs the reader better. Specific language, in contrast to general, vague language, draws readers attention because they can paint a better picture about the author’s purpose and story. The clear and concrete details in one’s writing can be beneficial in real life situations. For instance, if two people were applying for a job at a company, the person who submits a cover letter rich with concrete details is more likely to get hired than a person who has a bland cover letter that lacks in specificity. I find this skill applicable to my life, as I am beginning to construct my college essays. Incorporating concrete details into my essay is a skill I will definitely apply not only in this essay but in my writing in general.

Leave a Reply

